Today’s the Day!

Photo credit

Photo credit

I’m launching a new blog today, Found Between the Covers.  And I’m doing this as much for you as I am for me.

You see, I love books.  Despite my mother’s theory that reading time was completely unproductive and unless you were productive and had something tangible to show for your time, you were lazy.  That made reading hard.

However, Daddy was a printer and publisher.  He loved books too.  So, he equipped me with a flashlight and taught me how to read in the dark of my bedroom under the blanket. I love him for that!

Besides loving books, I love to read them.  But then I want to share them with someone.  And I’ve picked you, dear blog reader.

Here at Found Between the Covers I will be reviewing fiction, nonfiction, historical novels and biographies, and much more.  Also, I’m committed to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing under their Blogging for Books program.  In exchange for honest reviews, WaterBrook provides me with free books.  If you love to read, perhaps you’ll take a look at Blogging for Books.

I also read  memoirs but those reviews are found at my writing blog, Healing by Writing, since my current project is to write my memoir.  I have built community there.  As this blog progresses, I will give links to those reviews as well.

Come back tomorrow — I’ll be posting my first review on this blog.

Tagged:

11 thoughts on “Today’s the Day!

  1. My Rite of Passage February 7, 2013 at 4:53 pm Reply

    What a delightful project, Sherrey – congratulations. Since end of last year, I’ve been reading like a reader instead of a writer again for the first time in what feels like eons. I started with the first book listed on New York Times 100 notable books of the year – Alif the Unseen – and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer February 7, 2013 at 7:23 pm Reply

      Belinda, in my self-imposed hiatus, I’ve been doing the same — reading as a reader. And I really don’t have any friends who are avid readers so who am I going to share all my great reads with — blog readers, that’s who! I’ve read some great reviews of Alif the Unseen, and now I have your endorsement as well.

      Like

      • My Rite of Passage February 8, 2013 at 10:00 am Reply

        We can keep exchanging reviews; we should connect live again for a change. Let me know what will work for you. Maybe Google+ Hangouts?

        Like

        • Sherrey Meyer February 9, 2013 at 10:19 am Reply

          Belinda, I’d love to connect live. I’ve never tried Google+ Hangouts, but I’d love to be on my first hangout with you. What’s your schedule like on Tues., 2/12. That’s the only day I could do it next week, but could look at the week of the 18th if it works better for you. Looking forward to this.

          Like

  2. Sherrey Meyer February 6, 2013 at 10:15 pm Reply

    Joe, my husband accuses me of being drawn to books like a magnet to steel! I can’t help myself — Story Cartel look out! 🙂

    Like

  3. Joe Bunting February 6, 2013 at 7:12 pm Reply

    This is great, Sherrey. I hope you’ll pick up some books from storycartel.com. 🙂

    Like

  4. Joan February 6, 2013 at 6:37 pm Reply

    Well, congratulations on your new blog. I also love to read and plan to do a lot more of it this year. I got a new Kindle before Christmas and I’m finding that I love having an eReader.

    Blessings!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer February 6, 2013 at 10:14 pm Reply

      Joan, how nice to have you as one of my first commenters. I know that you enjoy reading, and I received a Kindle for Christmas. I never thought I’d enjoy holding other than paper between covers but I find it quite handy. Loving it too!

      Blessings back to you!

      Like

  5. Kathleen Pooler February 6, 2013 at 5:46 pm Reply

    Congratulations, Sherrey on the birth of your new blog. Your reviews are so comprehensive and engaging. Wishing you much success. It’s great to have you back! Blessings, Kathy

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer February 6, 2013 at 10:12 pm Reply

      Thanks, Kathy! I really love reviewing books and had never done much before I started on my other blogs. Then while I’ve been sitting here pondering my writing and reading future, it hit me that I could certainly support a blog with book reviews, excepting the memoirs which will stay with Healing by Writing. It has been fun figuring out a name, designing my site, and choosing the launch review. I think it will be quite interesting. 🙂

      Like

And what do you think?

