What Is a Summer Read?

People talk about compiling summer reading list, or a list of summer reads.  Others refer to them as beach or vacation reads.  But just what is a summer read?

Click image for credit.

Click image for credit.

Answers to the question are all over the place.  After reading several articles, a summer read can be categorized in many ways:

  • It can be an easy read, something light and witty, what some refer to as chick lit, or randomly selected bestsellers in one genre or another.
  • Or it can be starting or completing a series, such as the Harry Potter books.
  • Maybe your summer reads are those classics you’ve put off re-reading since high school or college.
  • Perhaps it’s the list of classics you’ve never read.
  • For some, a summer read might be catching up on the necessary reading of new textbooks, textbook materials, or curriculum references for teaching next year’s readers and writers.

How does a summer read become a beach read?

Click. image for credit.

Click. image for credit.

A summer read becomes a beach read when you move that beach chair from the backyard under the spreading arms of the maple tree to the shores of an ocean or lake and you’re required to carry along sun screen, sunglasses, something cool to drink and something to cover your head, preferably a beach umbrella or fashionable beach hat.

Reason for the accessories?  A warm day at the beach means you might just fall asleep for a nap, which leads me to the conclusion on how a summer read becomes a beach read.

Beach reads are intentionally easy reads, no complex plots or characters, something you can easily pick up and put down between naps without missing a beat.  Summer reads can be this too, but some definitions of summer reads, as stated above, could disqualify for beach reads due to heavy historical fact, complex plots, multiple complex characters.

For me, a summer or beach read can be anything you, the reader, want it to be based on your likes and dislikes, and the list of to be reads you’re trying to complete.

Just keep reading!

◊ ◊ ◊

Coming up next:  On Thursday, I’ll post my review of Impossible Odds by Jessica Buchanan and Erik Landemalm.  This is a review you don’t want to miss!

10 thoughts on “What Is a Summer Read?

  1. Bianca Swift (@SwiftyBianca) July 4, 2013 at 9:07 am Reply

    Summer reading to me is definitely, “It can be an easy read, something light and witty, what some refer to as chick lit, or randomly selected bestsellers in one genre or another.” – I need something that keeps me feeling happy, can make me laugh and doesn’t bog me down with anything too heavy deep and real! A fantastic beach read that I have come across so far that entertained and enlightened me is by author Gemini Adams entitled, “The Facebook Diet” (http://www.unplugseries.com/). The book really looks at how good, bad, healthy, connecting, isolating and addictive Facebook is! The book features 50 very funny cartoons that begin with “You know you’re a Facebook addict when….” As a self-proclaimed Facebook addict, I saw myself in just about every one of the funny illustrations & passages in this book. The latter part of the book offers tips on an effective “digital detox.”
    This book is definitely a must-read, lighter look into the very real issue of social media addiction and will be a great gift for all the internet addicts out there with a message to stop, get away from that gadget, and interact with a real person! Hope you will give it a read or perhaps give it to a friend who is ruled by social media 🙂

    Like

  2. RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book June 11, 2013 at 3:32 pm Reply

    I actually completely agree. I think that summer reads aren’t necessary “light” reads – they are books that you read in the summer! 🙂 I’ve felt that way for a long time and kind of felt like I was one of the few who felt that way. Guess not!

    Like

  3. Sherrey Meyer June 11, 2013 at 9:40 am Reply

    Isi, indeed it is whatever book you choose, but in summer. 🙂 Seeking and finding an enoyable read is the key.

    Like

  4. Isi June 10, 2013 at 9:45 pm Reply

    I absolutely agree with you: a summer read is whatever read you want to read, but in summer 🙂
    I’m reading a best-seller at the moment, but last year I read The Miserables in summer, so in my case can be every book. The most important thing is that you find an enjoyable reading!

    Like

  5. jimrada June 10, 2013 at 8:25 am Reply

    I consider my summer reads those books I really want to read but haven’t had the time to read, but I supposedly will both have the time and be able to read the books on vacation.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer June 10, 2013 at 2:34 pm Reply

      Yours is a very common interpretation of summer reads, at least among the articles I read on the topic. And when still working I remember doing the same. Enjoy whatever you are able to get read this summer!

      Like

  6. tpolen June 10, 2013 at 7:59 am Reply

    My reading really doesn’t change either. Since I don’t like to take my Nook on the beach, I stockpile a list of actual books to take with me. Already have a few ready to take in a couple of weeks!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer June 10, 2013 at 2:33 pm Reply

      Reading on the beach is so great! Wouldn’t take my Kindle there either. Enjoy your beach reading.

      Like

  7. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader June 10, 2013 at 5:29 am Reply

    Just keep reading indeed!

    I find that my reading doesn’t change in the summer. At least I don’t think it does? I’m going to pay close attention this year!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer June 10, 2013 at 2:33 pm Reply

      Engaging ourselves in book reviewing also changes our perspective on “summer reads.” Currently, most of my reading has its genesis in the “to be reviewed” stack. And yet, I’ll admit to a few books I’ve set aside for this summer between the reviews. Thanks for weighing in on this topic.

      Like

And what do you think?

