Had to Shop a Favorite Bookstore!

Recently I was the recipient of a lovely gift certificate to one of my favorite book haunts in and around the City of Portland. Wallace’s Books, in a 1940s cottage style house in the Sellwood neighborhood, shines with bright blue and yellow paint. And you can’t miss it because there’s always a dollar table sitting on the sidewalk area.

Open the door and you’ve walked into a book lover’s heaven. Everything from tables and shelves holding new books, slightly used and well used books. Every genre thinkable. Everything labeled clearly so you can find what you’re looking for.

Then the lovely owners and employees who willingly climb to near touching the ceiling to get you that book that you must have that is sitting at the highest point possible. And I made one of them do that on my recent trip.

Here are my finds on this trip:

  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (Has anyone read anything by Zafón?)
  • Bel Canto by Ann Patchett (I know I should have read this by now!)
  • Small Wondera collection of essays by Barbara Kingsolver (These essays are as good as any novel she’s written!)
  • Old Friend from Far Away by Natalie Goldberg (If I’m going to write a memoir, I should read a book on the practice of writing memoir.)
  • One Good Turn by Kate Atkinson (How I’ve missed reading any Kate Atkinson I really don’t know. And this is the one I made the girl working that day climb nearly to the ceiling to grab for me.)
  • And finally, Hannah’s Dream by Diane Hammond (I had to pick out one book by a NW writer. What would you think of a series on NW writers?)

I must say the gift given to me could not have made me a happier book lover than this one! And did I mention I left with those six books and money left on the certificate?

* * *

UP NEXT: My review of Jade Reyner’s debut novel, Twelve Days. You don’t want to miss this review of an intense read.

Tagged:

6 thoughts on “Had to Shop a Favorite Bookstore!

  1. marianbeaman August 1, 2013 at 6:23 pm Reply

    What an appealing little place, Sherrey. As always, you inspire me to read more, write more. Like you, I have not read the Ann Patchett book yet. Right now I’m reading Little Heathens by M. A. Kalish on vacation in the Monterey, CA area. We’re escaping hot and humid Florida for the thrill of the chill along the Pacific coast. I’m looking forward to exploring some quaint book shops in San Luis Obispo tomorrow.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 3, 2013 at 7:49 pm Reply

      Marian, what a lovely place to spend time away from the heat and humidity! Having been raised in TN, I know the escape from the summer is blessed. I just wish you were a little further north on the Pacific coast. We’re about an hour from the water’s edge in OR. You’ll have to share about the book shops you find in San Luis Obispo.

      Like

  2. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader August 1, 2013 at 6:04 am Reply

    What a beautiful little shop. I dream of opening something similar one day 😀

    Like

  3. tpolen August 1, 2013 at 5:20 am Reply

    What a great way to spend an afternoon – I’d probably lose track of time and stay all day!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 3, 2013 at 7:48 pm Reply

      Teri, it was hard to walk away, but then it’s only eight minutes from my house and I can go back. 🙂

      Like

And what do you think?

