Favorite Places to Read — What Are Yours?

View from my chair

View from my chair

When I started thinking about this post, I was in our backyard in a comfy Adirondack under the canopy of our mini-forest and garden. Usually, I read here when our cat, Maggie, wants to be outdoors. We live with dogs on three sides and on a busy street, Maggie is an indoor kitty who loves being outside, so she has to be harnessed and leashed — and watched that she doesn’t get herself tangled up too often.

Maggie sunning

Maggie sunning

On this particular day, as I thought about how I love summer and reading outdoors, I thought about when the weather turns cooler and, here in the NW, our daily drizzle returns.

Then what would I consider my favorite fall and winter and yes, springtime, favorite place to read?

In less perfect weather, I have several options for reading and here are a few of them:

When Maggie's not in it . . .

When Maggie’s not in it . . .

  • my comfy chair next to the fireplace, together with a good book and a glass of Oregon wine.
Or if Maggie's in the chair . . .

Or if Maggie’s in the chair . . .

  • I’ll take the sofa on the other side of the fireplace. (Disclaimer: This is not me, a woman totally averse to having her picture taken.)
Next on my list is our local library . . .

Next on my list is our local library . . .

  • Ledding Library in Milwaukie, OR. Comfortable reading area, quiet, also a good space for writing.
Powell's Cafe, a part of Powell's City of Books . . .

Powell’s City of Books . . .

  • is my favorite bookstore in Portland and it has the most awesome cafe and coffee shop set up for reading, studying, discussion.
Ever seen a Blue Kangaroo?

Ever seen a Blue Kangaroo?

These are my favorites. Personally, anytime I can be reading, wherever it may be, is a good place to pick up a good book and open the covers to see what can be found inside.

NOW, where are your favorite places to read? Take a minute to share with us and see who comes up with the most interesting place or places. 

* * *

NEXT UP:  I’ve just finished reading J.G. McNease’s The Last Navigator, and I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this intriguing work with you.

Tagged:

13 thoughts on “Favorite Places to Read — What Are Yours?

  1. marianbeaman August 19, 2013 at 11:24 am Reply

    Here’s a link to another blogger who asked a similar question, Sherrey:
    http://1writeplace.com/2013/08/19/the-reader-place-our-reading-habits-and-places-2/#like-638

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 19, 2013 at 9:37 pm Reply

      Marian, thanks for the link. Interesting post on reading habits and places. I’ve come across a couple of other posts on the topic. Love reading about other people and their reading.

      Like

  2. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader August 15, 2013 at 7:08 am Reply

    You have some lovely reading spots Sherrey 🙂 My answer if pretty boring. I love to read in bed. That’s my favorite.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 15, 2013 at 10:18 am Reply

      As a child, I hid under the covers and read in bed with a flashlight. My mother thought reading a waste of good time. And through college and into adult life I’ve always loved crawling in bed with a good book and reading the night away. Now that I’ve reached what some call my senior years, I fall asleep in bed reading. Sad but true!

      Like

  3. marianbeaman August 13, 2013 at 5:40 pm Reply

    I’m going to twist your question just a little bit, and tell you “who” I like to read with: grandson Curtis reading “The View from Saturday” on the love-seat while I read “Little Heathens” on the couch. It happened today in the cozy hours of the afternoon.

    I love your photos, Sherrey.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 14, 2013 at 7:53 pm Reply

      The image of you and Curtis curled up on the love-seat reading in the late afternoon. Glad you enjoyed the photos, Marian!

      Like

  4. Jade Reyner August 13, 2013 at 1:20 pm Reply

    I think it has to be the garden, in the warm spring sunshine with the birds singing in the background and watching the cat rolling around in the sun. Heaven….:-)

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 14, 2013 at 7:51 pm Reply

      Lovely description of a wonderful place to read, Jade! Thanks for stopping by to read.

      Like

  5. tpolen August 13, 2013 at 12:45 pm Reply

    Preferably under an umbrella on the beach, but if I’m not that lucky, in a chair on the covered patio (humidity permitting), or on a couch in the living room, usually with my cat in my lap. I can read anywhere!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 14, 2013 at 7:49 pm Reply

      Teri, I love your idea of a perfect place, but in OR we’re a little hesitant to even talk about the beach since it often rains so much there. My cat loves to sit in my lap while I’m reading, and like you, anywhere works to read.

      Like

  6. Paula @ Find a girl who reads August 13, 2013 at 2:28 am Reply

    My favorite spot is in the park, either sitting on a bench on in the shadow of a tree 🙂

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 14, 2013 at 7:48 pm Reply

      The park on a bench at noon time was my reading place while still working. Lovely! 🙂

      Like

And what do you think?

