Books, Books! Everywhere Books!

My shelves are full. Stacks of books sit on the floor — family room, my office, the bedroom. Shopping bags overflow with books.

And this doesn’t include what’s on my Kindle!

What to do with them all? READ THEM!

In the next weeks and months, I hope to dazzle you with reviews of the following:

Cry of the Peacock by V.R. Christensen (fiction) (currently reading)

Whistling Past the Graveyard by Susan Crandall (fiction) (currently reading)

The World’s Strongest Librarian by Josh Hahagame (memoir) (currently reading)

A Wilder Rose: A Novel by Susan Albert Wittig (fiction) (holding review for publication date)

The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates by Wes Moore (memoir)

The Storekeeper’s Daughter by Wanda E. Brunstetter (Amish fiction)

Misery Loves Company by Rene Gutteredge (fiction, suspense)

Little Madhouse on the Prairie by Marion Elizabeth Witte (memoir)

Famous Drownings in Literary History by Kevin Haworth (nonfiction)

Why Kimba Saved the World by Meg Welch Dendler (children’s)

My Emily by Matt Patterson (memoir)

The Secrets of Mary Bowser (P.S.) by Lois Leveen (fiction)

Never Give in to Fear: Laughing All the Way Up from Rock Bottom by Marti MacGibbon (memoir)

The Biscuit Witch by Deborah Smith (fiction)

North of Hope by Shannon Polson (memoir)

. . .  and the list could go on, but these are the ones up for the next reads. I may not read in the exact order listed here, other than those I’m reading. But these are the ones I want to read soon.

What about you? What’s on your list of books to read sooner than later and maybe share what you’re reading now? I’d love to hear!

 * * *

Coming up next week: On Monday, August 26th, my review of Cry of the Peacock by V.R. Christensen will be posted for Story Cartel. Then on Thursday, the 29th of August, I’ll be taking a look at Why Kimba Saved the World, a children’s book, by Meg Welch Dendler.

15 thoughts on “Books, Books! Everywhere Books!

  1. […] you remember a post from a few days ago, I talked about the stacks and shelves and bags of books I have sitting around our home. Among my […]

    Like

  2. RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book August 26, 2013 at 9:52 am Reply

    LOVED The World’s Strongest Librarian!!! Great list of books!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 26, 2013 at 2:35 pm Reply

      Super book! Having hard time getting other things done it’s so good.

      Like

      • marianbeaman August 26, 2013 at 3:25 pm Reply

        I have heard so much from you all about The World’s Strongest Librarian I’ve put it on hold. Living in the South, I’ve already read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil–saw the movie too. Of course, 2 different genres.

        Like

        • Sherrey Meyer August 28, 2013 at 8:43 am Reply

          Marian, you are going to love this book! So honest, so painful at times, so powerful and full of courage.

          Like

  3. tpolen August 26, 2013 at 6:58 am Reply

    We’re in the same boat, Sherrey! My list is pretty long too – currently reading The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, The Troop by Nick Cutter, and Timesplash by Graham Storrs and have waiting for me Fortuna by Michael R. Stevens, Relativity by Cristin Bishara and then Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt for book club. That doesn’t count the other books waiting for me on my Nook that I’ve already downloaded. I’d love to have a vacation and do nothing but read!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 26, 2013 at 2:36 pm Reply

      Impressive list, Teri! I loved Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil — enjoy! Those reading devices are a good place to store away so many books. Kind of like hiding the chocolate from your kids. 🙂

      Like

  4. Melinda August 26, 2013 at 4:05 am Reply

    Enjoy the reads!!

    Like

  5. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader August 25, 2013 at 9:48 am Reply

    Good luck with your list Sherrey!! I hope you’re enjoying The World’s Strongest Librarian. I loved that book to bits 😀

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 25, 2013 at 6:56 pm Reply

      Jen, thanks for the good wishes! I have a bad habit of starting too many at one time because I want to read them ALL. 🙂 I am enjoying The World’s Strongest Librarian. I can’t imagine overcoming the challenges he’s faced.

      Like

  6. marianbeaman August 23, 2013 at 9:48 am Reply

    The books everywhere is okay, Sherrey! You probably know the William Dean Howells quote, “Nothing furnishes a room like books.” It’s true of course. I’ve just finished Little Heathens and now trying to juggle The Chosen, and The Liar’s Club. I have on hold at the library The Fault in Our Stars, Running on Empty: Contemplative Spirituality for the Over-Achiever, and Yearnings: Embracing the Sacred Messiness of Life (Kala Irwin). You see where I’m going with this: memoir & meditation. Other titles are on Riffle. And on my Mac Kindle. Enough for now.

    You are a writer/reader/book reviewer–your book “hoarding” should be guilt free.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 23, 2013 at 3:35 pm Reply

      I have absolutely no guilt when it comes to books, quilting fabric and yarn! None. at. all! Those are my vices. Others select gambling, alcohol and drugs — I pick the feel goods. And I can feel books, fabric and yarn, except for those books living on Kindle. 🙂

      Like

  7. Jade Reyner August 23, 2013 at 5:03 am Reply

    My goodness! You have your hands full Sherrey! Good luck. 🙂

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer August 23, 2013 at 3:29 pm Reply

      I love reading, so it’s really not a problem. With four or five going at the same time, it shouldn’t take too long. 🙂

      Like

And what do you think?

