Friday Favorites | Annie Bloom’s, an Independent Bookseller

One of my favorite little bookstores in the Portland area is Annie Bloom’s Books. It doesn’t hurt that Annie Bloom’s is nearby in a favorite haunt, Multnomah Village, an eclectic mix of shops, eateries, art and antiques, and coffee.

When Annie Bloom’s opened in 1978, I wonder if they knew the shop would still be going strong 30 plus years later. Of course, there are good reasons for that:

  • An inventory that includes a broad range of new (not used) books in many genre
  • Along with a strong fiction section, there are books for children/young adults, travel, cooking, current events
  • Don’t forget the magazines, CDs and greeting cards
  • A personal favorite of mine is the variety of gifts for book lovers and writers

BUT one reason stands out above all the rest at making Annie Bloom’s popular and long-lasting, and it is the shop’s customer service. Annie Bloom’s excels in providing that extra touch that keeps its patrons happy whether it’s finding a book needed sooner than later, helping with gifts for that special occasion, and gladly taking orders over the phone or online.

For my part, Annie Bloom’s Books is a top-notch independent bookseller. I’m hoping that we’ll both still be around in another 30 plus years.

Books-2-icon

If you live in the Portland area, you can find directions to Annie Bloom’s Books by clicking this link for a map and directions or if you are too far from Portland, then visit Annie Bloom’s via the website at this link.

* * *

Coming up next: My review of Murder at the Maples (Flora Lively Mysteries) by Joanne Phillips. It was my privilege to be one of Joanne’s beta readers and now her book is available for everyone to read. Can’t wait to share it with you.

Tagged: ,

8 thoughts on “Friday Favorites | Annie Bloom’s, an Independent Bookseller

  1. […] Friday Favorite | Annie Bloom’s, Indie Book Seller […]

    Like

  2. Laura Stanfill October 4, 2013 at 6:53 am Reply

    Hurray for Annie Bloom’s! I’m a huge fan, as a local publisher and as a reader, and I founded my first little writing group in their wonderful little upstairs room. And I’m so glad this piece on them helped me find your review blog, Sherrey.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer October 4, 2013 at 10:29 am Reply

      Laura, so glad you found your way here! I love Annie Bloom’s too. Currently, more as a reader but soon hope to enjoy it as published author. Visited your various sites and am impressed with what you’ve accomplished. I’ll be following you via Feedly.

      Like

      • Laura Stanfill October 4, 2013 at 10:41 am Reply

        Oh wonderful, Sherrey! It’s so nice to meet yet another literary person, and I look forward to your future posts through WordPress Reader.

        Like

  3. Judy Nedry September 27, 2013 at 10:34 am Reply

    Sherrey, this is a great book store in my neighborhood. They sold many copies of my first novel, An Unholy Alliance.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer September 27, 2013 at 11:22 am Reply

      Judy, wish I had known earlier! I was just there this morning to spend a $200 gift certificate I won. I could have picked up your book. 🙂

      Like

  4. tpolen September 27, 2013 at 8:05 am Reply

    Sounds like the perfect place to me. Wish I could visit!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer September 27, 2013 at 11:22 am Reply

      Teri, it is a delicious little piece of heaven! Wish you could visit too. 🙂

      Like

And what do you think?

