Friday Favorites | Favorite Childhood Series

Favorites among books I’ve read likely number in the hundreds if not the thousands. I’ve read since I was quite young, and I appreciate my father for instilling in me the love of the written word.

Via Etsy

Via Etsy

And here’s where my favorite childhood series comes into play. For my eighth birthday, Anne of Green Gables was a gift from my father. I fell in love with Anne and read and re-read her story at least three times during the next 12 months.

Thus began a tradition. Each year my father would give me the next in the series until I had the following on my shelves:

  • Anne of Green Gables
  • Anne of Avonlea
  • Anne of the Island
  • Anne’s House of Dreams
  • Anne of Windy Poplars
  • Anne of Ingleside

I also received on two other birthdays: Chronicles of Avonlea and Further Chronicles of Avonlea, collections of short stories by L.M. Montgomery. Anne’s character appears in only one story in these two volumes.

The image shown here is one I found on Etsy, the dust jacket identical to the jacket design on the volumes I own. I wish I could share a photo of my collection. Unfortunately, it is nicely stored away — in the attic where I cannot go. My sweet husband would stop everything to retrieve them for me, but I don’t want to bother him (he’s in the midst of a huge let’s get ready for winter project).

Via Goodreads

L.M. Montgomery
Via Goodreads

I found a wonderful history of the author L.M. Montgomery’s life, and Wikipedia lists a useful chronology of these books as well as other helpful information.

Over the years I’ve thought about my fondness for this series of books. The only conclusion I have for choosing it as my favorite childhood series is two-fold. First, the books were gifts from my father. And second, I believe I identified with Anne. If you’ve read the first book, you know that Anne was mistakenly sent to the Cuthberts who expected to adopt a boy, not a girl.

When my parents married, so I’m told, they had no intention of having children. Between them, they already had three, two grown daughters and an almost 14-year old son. Somehow I happened along about 10 months later, and I grew up convinced they would have rather had a boy. Don’t ask where that came from as it’s too long a story to go into here. It’s just how I remember feeling. And Anne’s stories wrapped me in comfort.

Now you know my favorite childhood series.

I’d love to know what your favorite childhood series or book is so won’t you join the discussion below and share?

* * *

On Tuesday, October 22nd, Found Between the Covers participates in the Cover Reveal for Living Separate Lives by Paulette Harper. 

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites | Favorite Childhood Series

  1. tpolen October 18, 2013 at 8:49 am Reply

    Sherrey, I remember so many hours spent on the couch or outside in the porch swing reading The Bobbsey Twins Mysteries or Nancy Drew. When my kids were younger and I volunteered at their school library, I was glad to see these books were still around. I also read Little Women about 4 times before getting out of 7th grade.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer October 18, 2013 at 9:35 pm Reply

      Teri, sounds like you and I spent our time doing the same thing on the couch or in the porch swing. 🙂 Loved reading then, and love it now. Some things survive time — books!

      Like

And what do you think?

