Recent Book Haul!

Any book blogger knows a lot of the books we receive for review are provided to us free in exchange for fair reviews. That’s all well and good. BUT . . .

Every now and then a bookaholic likes to shop for books. That can get expensive, but purchasing books supports starving writers and book shop owners. I prefer shopping Indie book sellers and, not unexpectedly, their prices run a bit higher.

Recently I had the good fortune to win — yes, I said WIN — a lovely gift certificate from Sandra Brannan, author of the Liv Bergen Mystery Series. It was a simple enough contest I ran across on Sandra’s Facebook Page — simply leave a comment naming your favorite Indy bookstore for a chance to win. That’s all I did — and I won!

Here are images of the books I spent my gift certificate for at Annie Bloom’s:

Books purchased for me

Books purchased for me

For my better half, Bob

For my better half, Bob

and one other they were out of, but graciously ordered for me:

Reaching by Grace Peterson

Reaching by Grace Peterson

Reaching is a memoir written by my online friend, Grace Peterson of Subplots by Grace.

I could certainly get into buying this many books at one haul, but with all the “Book of the Day” books I receive (more about this in a later post), I don’t know when I’ll get my book written for spending time reading such delicious and delectable writings from others.

Have you made a book haul lately and, if so, what did you pick up or bring home from the library? We’re dying (not exactly) to know!

Books-2-icon

Related articles on this blog

Tagged: ,

18 thoughts on “Recent Book Haul!

  1. RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book November 3, 2013 at 5:37 pm Reply

    I looooooooove book sales! I am actually going to one next weekend with Shannon from River City Reading, and it will be so nice because it’ll be the first time we get to meet, too!!!

    Plus, you got some REALLY great books!!!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer November 3, 2013 at 6:54 pm Reply

      Rebecca, I envy you on two levels: (1) attending the book sale and (2) meeting Shannon. Shannon and I have just begun to cross paths in this book blogging world, and I’m enjoying getting to know her. I think we may have connected through your link party.

      Like

      • RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book November 4, 2013 at 7:35 am Reply

        Yay!!! Shannon told me about this fabulous website for book sales. . . http://www.booksalefinder.com/ So maybe it’ll be helpful to you!

        Like

        • Sherrey Meyer November 4, 2013 at 10:48 am Reply

          I am in so much trouble now! I bookmarked that link and already have several to take in in the next couple of months. Also, there are lists of bookstores by state so when we’re on the road, I’ll know where to stop. YAY!!!!!

          Like

          • RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book November 5, 2013 at 11:48 am Reply

            I know, she’s awesome for passing on that link! I find that if I set (AND STICK TO!!!! those are the key words) a monetary limit, then I do just fine!

            Like

            • Sherrey Meyer November 5, 2013 at 9:04 pm

              I think we may share a gene pool!

              Like

  2. Shannon @ River City Reading November 3, 2013 at 12:15 pm Reply

    What a great haul! Tiny Beautiful Things is one of my absolute favorite books. I’ve read it three times this year! Hope you enjoy all of the wonderful reading you have ahead of you.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer November 3, 2013 at 1:58 pm Reply

      Shannon, thanks for stopping by! I’ve heard really good things about Tiny Beautiful Things. It was on a table just ahead of me as I entered the shop, and it seemed meant to be. 🙂

      BTW, I enjoyed the survey you and your compatriots did on book bloggers. Interesting results.

      Like

  3. A Fresh Tomorrow November 3, 2013 at 3:53 am Reply

    Great book finds! I loved “Z.”

    Found your blog on Rebecca’s link love party. 🙂

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer November 3, 2013 at 1:57 pm Reply

      Hi and thanks for stopping in from Rebecca’s. Haven’t started “Z” yet but everyone seems to love it.

      Like

  4. Melinda October 29, 2013 at 12:30 am Reply

    I also shop for books, because I love paper copies. Most of the books I receive in exchange for a review is ebooks, which I don’t like. I hope you enjoy the Kingsolver and Follett books! (once your better half is done with the latter… )

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer October 29, 2013 at 10:07 pm Reply

      Melinda, true confession. I didn’t own an ereader until I started reviewing seriously and then started receiving all the ebooks. I much prefer paper in my hands. I love the feel, the smell, and the turning of pages. My dad was a printer/publisher; I think it’s in my blood!

      I do enjoy Follett. I think together we’ve read almost everything except these two newest ones. 🙂

      Like

  5. marianbeaman October 28, 2013 at 10:26 am Reply

    Our son Joel gave me a birthday B & N gift card and I bought Ann Patchett’s Bel Canto and also Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey by Countess of Carnarvon (must get ready for the new season!). From the EMU Bookstore at my alma mater I bought Valerie Weaver-Zercher’s Thrill of the Chaste in preparation for featuring her work on an upcoming blog post. And finally, on my bedside table is Karen Leahy’s The Summer of Yes, a memoir I won on your website, Sherrey. Thanks!

    It’s odd that I’ve bought books lately because the library is typically my main source.

    A noticed a disparity between you and Bob in the size of your book hauls – ha! However, Bob seems to go for the giant books. I once read through the 973-pages of Ken Follett’s The Pillars of the Earth. That’ll do me for a little while.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer October 29, 2013 at 10:06 pm Reply

      I recently picked up a copy of Bel Canto at a nearby used bookstore. Haven’t had time to read it yet. Last year I read the book by the Countess of Carnavon and reviewed it here. You’re going to love it! The library is my usual source too until now with all the books coming in for reviews. The disparity in the book haul was Bob’s fault — I was willing to spend more on him, and he said that wouldn’t do. I had won the gift certificate — not him! 🙂

      Like

      • marianbeaman October 30, 2013 at 6:07 am Reply

        What a guy, that Bob of yours! He sounds like the CareBear I know. By the way, I finished reading Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey and also am about to finish The Summer of Yes by Karen Leahy, a real page-turner about convent life I previously knew little about.

        Like

  6. Carol Bodensteiner October 28, 2013 at 6:51 am Reply

    What a great gift to win, Sherrey! You picked up one of my favorite authors – Barbara Kingsolver. My recent book buying binge focused on Indie authors: UNRAVELLED by M.K. Tod, BLUSH by Shirley Showalter, and REACHING by Grace Peterson. Another indie author I’m reading for the first time is Christoph Fischer – THE BLACK EAGLE INN. Recent library reads include: THE NIGHT STRANGERS by Chris Bojhalian, and JOY FOR BEGINNERS by Erica Bauermeister. Seems as though I’m reading more and more these days. How to find the time?!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer October 29, 2013 at 10:04 pm Reply

      Barbara Kingsolver is also one of my favorites. I think the draw for me is her commitment and love of living in Appalachia part of which runs through the eastern part of my home state of TN. And besides that, she’s such a good writer. I got a call today that my copy of REACHING had come in, and I should have by week’s end. I’m anxious to read Grace’s story. We live so near to one another and yet haven’t been able to meet yet. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Christopher Fischer — I haven’t read his work either. I used to get almost everything I read from the library, but now with the book blog I receive so many free books, I hardly get to the library. So glad you stopped by and shared what you’re reading.

      Like

And what do you think?

