Friday Favorites | Powell’s City of Books, Portland, Oregon

Who is lucky enough to live in Portland, OR? Why, I am!

Why does living in Portland make me lucky?

It’s also the home of Powell’s City of Books!  

Powell's block-sized, many-storied, many-roomed City of Books at sunrise

Powell’s block-sized, many-storied, many-roomed City of Books at sunrise

However, Powell’s was not originally established in Portland. Michael Powell started what has become his famously large bookstore in Chicago. For a full history of Powell’s since it’s beginnings in Portland in the early 1970s, you can visit Powell’s Company History page. There is also an interesting overview of Michael Powell’s leadership as well as links to two interviews.

Powell's floor-to-floor, room-to-room map

Powell’s floor-to-floor, room-to-room map

Once inside, customers are dizzied by the large array of books, new and used, and the number of rooms and how to get around. Being a full-service, customer-oriented, bookstore, Powell’s provides a lovely, colored floor plan to aid the customer. Just imagine spending all day and most of the evening in this maize.

To take a personal tour and learn more about each floor, you can click here and be transported to Powell’s.

Before I retired in 2006, I worked across the street from Powell’s. It was a great place to spend a lunch hour and the exercise walking room to room and up and down stairs could not be beat, and it was free. Of course, there was the occasional bood expenditures that did cost me.

Last year Powell’s underwent a renovation and expansion project. From the images I found on the web site, the interior has changed a bit since I was last there:

Rare Book Room

Rare Book Room

Kids Book Room

Kids Book Room

Pillar of Books -- my favorite addition!

Pillar of Books — my favorite addition!

Powell’s Cafe

In addition to this downtown site, Powell’s maintains three other full-service stores, plus a technical store and a gardening and cookbook store.

In the community, Powell’s is a driving force behind protecting the environment by partnering with the Green Press Initiative. Some of the ways Powell’s works to be a green retailer is by equipping its warehouse with solar panels, the cafe composts, uses biodiesel in its delivery trucks, began in 2007 purchasing Clean WindSM Power, and using environmentally responsible resources in its recent expansion and remodeling projects.

Powell’s is very active in donating books to our local schools in Portland and Beaverton, a suburb of Portland. Powell’s sponsors the School Book Challenge program donating upwards of 50,000 books to local students.

AND don’t forget Powell’s has a strong online presence in retailing as well. Their store staff are committed to helping you find and purchase whatever is on your list, whether shopping in the store or online.

We Portlanders are very proud of Powell’s City of Books and all that they do in and for the community in keeping us in books! Can you tell?

Do you have a store that’s a favorite of yours?

Why not share something about it below!

UP NEXT: Friday Favorites with a look at Powell’s City of Books in Portland, Oregon.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Friday Favorites | Powell’s City of Books, Portland, Oregon

  1. […] else jealous of Sherrey at Found Between the Covers?  I want to visit Powell’s Books, too!!!!  She’s offered me a tour if I ever make it […]

    Like

  2. […] else jealous of Sherrey at Found Between the Covers?  I want to visit Powell’s Books, too!!!!  She’s offered me a tour if I ever make it […]

    Like

  3. Jan November 17, 2013 at 2:32 am Reply

    Wow, I think I’d be drooling all over the place if I went there! I could definitely spend all day wandering around a bookstore like this!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer November 17, 2013 at 8:00 am Reply

      Jan, it’s an awesome place when you’re a book lover. I could literally spend all day and night (if they’d let me bring a sleeping bag for reading in between closing and opening again the next day!

      Like

  4. Julie@Momspective November 14, 2013 at 2:13 pm Reply

    Oh I love bookstores. Just the smell of them brings me peace. I could sit in one for hours!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer November 14, 2013 at 3:48 pm Reply

      Wait until I post about another of my favorites in a few weeks! You’ll be packing your bags. 🙂

      Like

  5. RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book November 11, 2013 at 4:52 pm Reply

    Like we chatted about on G+, I REALLY want to go! I have only heard amazing things about this independent bookstore!

    Like

  6. Patti Hall November 11, 2013 at 4:22 am Reply

    Love Powell’s! Your Amazon site looks great too. Hope to meet up soon.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer November 11, 2013 at 2:30 pm Reply

      Hello, Patti! Hope you’re doing well “on the job.” Thanks for the comment here and about my Amazon page. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

      Like

  7. marianbeaman November 8, 2013 at 2:30 pm Reply

    I believe we visited Powell’s years ago when it didn’t look quite like this on the inside. More than makes up for the days of little sunshine.

    Your new look is state of the art. From the banner to the rotating titles on the side panel, this website is simply amazing. You go, girl!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer November 11, 2013 at 3:53 pm Reply

      I haven’t seen the inside of Powell’s since they completed the remodel, but I’d love to! A bit afraid to go near there — I’ll buy MORE books. Yikes!

      Thanks for your compliments on the blog’s new look. It was fun pulling it together.

      Like

  8. tpolen November 8, 2013 at 8:34 am Reply

    If I went there for lunch, I probably wouldn’t go back to work!

    Like

And what do you think?

