Friday Favorites | My Current Library

When we began the search for our current home some 20 years ago, I hoped for one thing — a library nearby. In walking distance if possible. That was not to be.

But I am closer to a library now than I ever have been even though I have about a six-minute drive there.

We live in a lovely community and in the core of our business area are many wonderful, older buildings — the original fire hall now converted to administrative offices and the original elementary school now used by a private school.

And not too far from those buildings stands our library, Ledding Library. Its architecture a far cry from that of my first library, the subject of an earlier post, Ledding has a rich history dating back to the late 1800s. And it’s located in an area reflective of our community’s desire to protect our environment.

Behind the library building sits lovely Scott Park at the center of which lies a pond where in early spring azaleas, rhododendrons and more bloom, and where Canadian geese and mallards nest and raise their young. It’s a lovely place to go and read the first couple of chapters of the book you’ve just checked out.

Scott Park Pond | Visitor Feeding Nutria Image courtesy of Yelp

Scott Park Pond | Visitor Feeding Nutria
Image courtesy of Yelp

Or to visit a resident nutria, seen here making friends with a visitor who must have food in hand.

In the summer this lovely park and wetlands area is host to a variety of musical concerts, clowns, magicians, jugglers and more. I guess you might say in good weather it becomes a hub of activity in our somewhat smallish community.

On the other side of the pond is the Pond House Bookstore, a residence acquired a few years back to house the used books recycles by patrons happy to have their first reads sold at a nominal price and read by someone else.

After 20 years (almost) of holding a card to this lovely library and enjoying its outdoor benefits as well, I can honestly say that six minutes isn’t that far to drive to get to what we lovingly call the “free bookstore.”

Books-2-icon

What about you? Do you have a favorite library and what makes it a favorite — place, activities, atmosphere, free books for reading? Join the discussion — we’ll have a great time comparing libraries!

* * *

ON TAP NEXT:  My review of an anthology compiled of memories from women who lived in the ’60s and ’70s, Times They Were A-Changing, edited by Kate Farrell, Linda Joy Meyers and Amber Lea Starfire. That’s coming up on Tuesday, December 17th. Hope to see you here.

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Friday Favorites | My Current Library

  1. RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book December 17, 2013 at 8:51 am Reply

    I love it! I’m about a 5-7 minute drive from my local library in Florida. But since I’ve been lucky enough to do some traveling, when I lived in Denver for 4 months, I was WALKING distance! It was soooooo amazing!!! Maybe a 15 minute walk or so, but really close! It was fabulous. . . except I’d end up returning 1 book and coming home with 7 in my arms. . .

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer December 17, 2013 at 3:05 pm Reply

      You are so lucky, Rebecca, to be close to your library. However, I’m envious of the proximity of the library to you while in Denver! And the ability to walk there combines exercising not only your choice of books but your legs — what a wonderful combination. Oh, and don’t forget those biceps coming home!

      Like

  2. Sherrey Meyer December 15, 2013 at 6:11 pm Reply

    This library definitely has the best of both worlds! Thanks for stopping by, Stephanie!

    Like

  3. sstamm625 December 13, 2013 at 6:21 am Reply

    What a lovely sounding place–library and nature center combined!

    Like

  4. tpolen December 13, 2013 at 5:22 am Reply

    When my husband’s job transferred us to Kentucky, the first thing I did was look up schools, churches, and a library – probably not in that exact order. The libraries here are pretty good and have expanded considerably in the past few years, but are surrounded by parking lots. I’m completely jealous of the park behind your library and all it has to offer!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer December 15, 2013 at 6:10 pm Reply

      Isn’t it amazing how some of us think of the same things when we move, Teri? Come to Oregon on your next move and we’ll share libraries with a beautiful park around it. 🙂

      Like

  5. marianbeaman December 13, 2013 at 4:46 am Reply

    In Jacksonville we have a huge library downtown, very beautiful with a large “owl” ornament near the rooftop. It’s mantra posted at the door: “Start here, go anywhere.” We don’t go there very often, but I do put a pile of books on “hold” at one of the satellite libraries. The most nostalgic thing about the Southeast branch which I frequent is that there is a huge Curious George monkey at the entrance to the children’s section, an animal I am sure our children touched and maybe even sat on when they were little. There is also a reading “Bear” with gold-rimmed spectacles, which our grandson Ian thinks looks like his Grandpa B.–ha!

    One of my posts quite a while ago featured my grade school class making a field trip to the Elizabethtown Public Library. Two-room schools back then didn’t had formal libraries, just bookshelves. We are so blessed to have all of this knowledge at our fingertips–and within walking or easy-driving distance. Good post!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer December 15, 2013 at 6:09 pm Reply

      Marian, my mind’s eye can see that large “owl” as you describe it on the rooftop of Jacksonville’s library. And I love the libraries mantra — it is absolutely true. The children’s library greeters, Curious George and the reading “Bear” will always be an encouragement to little ones to love reading. I’m headed back to your blog to read about the library field trip to the Elizabethtown library. Thanks for dropping in!

      Like

  6. JJ Hinojosa December 13, 2013 at 3:33 am Reply

    I fondly remember my first library when I was seven years old. It was a converted 2-story Army barracks in Mercedes, Tx. My older brother took me there and I got signed up for a library card. The place was not air conditioned and no ceiling fans – just open windows. I can still remember the wonderful musty scent of hundreds of books. It was there I fell in love with libraries and my first full-length novel was “Tom Sawyer” followed by “Huckleberry Finn. I’ve have a library card ever since, including my 20 years in the US Marine Corps.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer December 15, 2013 at 6:07 pm Reply

      JJ, you and I were about the same age when introduced to libraries. It was interesting learning about your library in Mercedes and the delicious scent of the books. While I’m at it, thanks for your 20 years of service in the Marines and for keeping up the library card.

      Like

  7. Patti Hall December 13, 2013 at 2:11 am Reply

    Fun post, Sherrey, and just as you thought, it brings memories of libraries.
    My favorite service in any town is the library. I have visited libraries from Homer & Eagle River, Alaska to Illinois, Kentucky, Canada and Hawaii. My mom and I are such readers that I had a list of where the libraries were on each island in Hawaii, when we went there for 5 weeks last winter. Our first stop was Honolulu, so I applied and got a temporary card for our time in Hawaii. I still carry it in my wallet:>)

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer December 15, 2013 at 6:06 pm Reply

      Patti, I’m glad you enjoyed this post. Your library experiences are far reaching and most interesting. Loved hearing about your temporary card in Hawaii! I think I’d always carry that one. 🙂

      Like

      • Patti Hall December 15, 2013 at 6:10 pm Reply

        Yes, I think I will. I just thought of it, but it was this time last year that I got that card:>)

        Like

And what do you think?

