Friday Favorites | Favorite Christmas Reads

Christmas is only another five days away, and I’m ready! I’ve been ready for some time since we’ve committed to what we call the “Meyer Minimalist Christmas” with retirement. “Minimalist” covers the amount of decorating, time spent shopping (not to mention dollars spent), commitments of time made, and lastly how much we bake and eat.

Now that’s out of the way I’ve spent a good deal of time remembering Christmases past and the books I received at Christmas or read before, during, or after the holidays.

First, two literary classics:

Classic Collage

And on to three childhood favorites:

Children's Collage

More recent in the Christmas story genre are the following, a small representation if you do a search for “popular Christmas books” on Goodreads. The books shown here are a few of my personal favorites at Christmastime:

Richard Paul Evans' Christmas Box Trilogy, Books 1 and 2

Richard Paul Evans’ Christmas Box Trilogy, Books 1 and 2
(still need to read Book 3)

Kincaid Baldacci Collage

This Year Different

And last, but not least, favorites from my days as a young reader, loving all things girlish:

Little Women

I’ve always thought Little Women made for a great read at the holidays.

Via Etsy

And there were the Anne of Green Gables books my dad always thought of
at Christmas (and birthdays).

Little House

Christmas break always meant time to read more of the Little House books.

Now you know some of my favorite reads around the Christmas holidays.

What are some of yours? Anything special? Anything here? Leave a comment sharing something about your favorite holiday reading.

* * *

Found Between the Covers is closing down for the holidays.
The next post appears the first week in January with a review of
The Gods of Heavenly Punishment by Jennifer Cody Epstein (including a giveaway).
Until then, happy holidays to all!

merrychristmas

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Friday Favorites | Favorite Christmas Reads

  1. sstamm625 December 21, 2013 at 5:11 pm Reply

    Sherrey, have you read Truman Capote’s A Christmas Memory? It’s a short story, not a novel, but one of my very, very favorites. Here’s a link to a PDF if you are interested: http://faculty.weber.edu/jyoung/English%206710/A%20Christmas%20Memory.pdf I think you’d like it. Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer December 26, 2013 at 7:30 pm Reply

      Stephanie, I’ve tried to stay away from the computer for the past several days other than to work on 2014 writing goals. I’m hoping to complete my first draft of my manuscript by the end of the year, including a couple of stiff rounds of revisions. Just found this comment today. I haven’t read this but am going to look at it tonight. Thanks for the recommendation.

      Hope you had a Merry Christmas, and that 2014 is filled with blessings for you. BTW, how’s the book going? I’m eager to read more.

      Like

      • sstamm625 December 28, 2013 at 7:50 am Reply

        Good for you! Good luck on the MS completion! I need to knuckle down and write myself. My progress is slower than I’d like–but I’ve no one to blame but myself. I think I’m unstuck now and have a way forward–instead of rewriting the last 20 pages over and over as I have been doing. Happy New Year to you and wishes for many blessings in 2014.

        Like

  2. tpolen December 20, 2013 at 5:18 am Reply

    Haven’t read many Christmas books, but I enjoyed Skipping Christmas by John Grisham and The Grinch has always been a favorite. Merry Christmas – enjoy your vacation!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer December 20, 2013 at 2:29 pm Reply

      John Grisham’s is one I’ve missed and I don’t know how as he has been one of my favorite authors. I’ll have to look it up. And who doesn’t love The Grinch? I’m actually basing a Children’s Sermon on dear Mr. Grinch the Sunday after Christmas — they’ll understand his small heart well enough for me to compare him to “Herod the Grinch” in the Biblical version. 🙂

      Merry Christmas and thanks for being such a loyal follower!

      Like

  3. marianbeaman December 20, 2013 at 4:13 am Reply

    I think your collection of books is wonderful: nostalgic and very much like I read either with children or grand-children. I’ll have to look into the Maeve Binchy title, as she is a great read for entertainment and inspiraton.

    You deserve to “close down” for a while, Sherrey, but I invite you to check out my two Christmas posts. They’re VERY short–ha! Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer December 20, 2013 at 2:27 pm Reply

      Marian, I’m glad you enjoyed this post. It was a fun one to pull together. The collection by Maeve Binchy is such an enjoyable bit of entertaining reading. You’ll love it.

      I have been working on 2014 goals and haven’t been reading blogs or following social media much lately, so I’m long overdue for a visit to your place. I have you on a list of blogs to visit in my down time, but yours definitely before Christmas. I’m curious to see what goes on on a plain girl’s blog at Christmas!

      Wishing you and Cliff a truly Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

      Like

And what do you think?

