Looking Back at 2013 and Ahead to 2014

I may be a day or two late but I’ve been held hostage by a bedridden husband suffering severe back pain. Still, I wanted to look at the highs and lows of 2013 and give a peek at what might be happening in 2014.

I began Found Between the Covers in February 2013, having decided I wanted to separate my books reviews out of my writing blog, Sherrey Meyer, Writer (formerly Healing by Writing). The process of writing and publishing a book seemed ill-suited to be combined with reviewing books within the same blog.

And Found Between the Covers was born. During the year, I’ve learned a great deal from many of you about book blogging and book reviewing. Lest I overlook anyone, I would like to say thanks to all who have supported me and encouraged me. Book bloggers are great people.

Top 10 Posts: 

Things I Learned:

  • There’s a lot of record-keeping in reviewing books on a regular basis (enter Excel spreadsheet!).
  • People never read your Review Policy *sighs here*.
  • Attempting to write your own book and reading others’ works can be mind-boggling.
  • Attempting to write your own book and reading others’ works is very educational and filled with the do’s and don’ts of correct grammar and the need to proofread carefully.
  • I’m a good bit older than the rest of you *sighs again*.
  • I love books too much! NEVER!
  • Book bloggers are a great community!

Goals:

  • Continue to give quality reviews for all books.
  • Closed to accepting more reviews as of December 3, 2013, and uncertain when I’ll reverse this.
  • Several review requests from individual authors and publishers will be completed as promised.
  • After realizing my following is not large enough to support giveaways, I will likely discontinue this practice.
  • Attempt to be a better community member by reading more of your reviews and commenting.
  • Consider closing Found Between the Covers down as soon as above-referenced reviews are completed.

The reasoning behind this last goal is two-fold:

  1. I have set a goal of finishing my manuscript in 2014, including two or more rounds of self-edits, obtaining a professional editor and proofreader, and preparing to shop my book to publishers. This entails focus on platform building, branding and marketing (A. LOT. OF. TIME!).
  2. In the year I’ve blogged here, my following hasn’t grown to a level I feel is fair to the writers, publishers and tour groups for whom I’m reviewing books.

A lot of thought will go into any decision to drop Found Between the Covers as it has fed my love of reading and desire to share the best of the books I read with others. However, there may be other avenues I haven’t yet discovered.

Thank again to those who have supported and encouraged me here.

pink_girl_happy_new_year_2014

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Looking Back at 2013 and Ahead to 2014

  1. Laurie C January 10, 2014 at 3:39 am Reply

    There are so many book blogs! It’s hard to find everyone in time, before they get discouraged and stop blogging. I can definitely see how reviewing would take too much time away from your own writing, though, especially since you’ve been maintaining two blogs, as well, in 2013. Good luck with your decision! I found you through the Linky Love Party this week.

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer January 10, 2014 at 11:50 am Reply

      Laurie, check out my sidebar for a few of my favorite book bloggers. AND I don’t know yet that I will cease reviewing here. Perhaps I’ll just scale back. It all depends on my book progresses. Right now my muse is in! 🙂 I look forward to your continuing to visit as long as I’m reviewing.

      Like

  2. Rebecca Scaglione - Love at First Book January 8, 2014 at 8:00 pm Reply

    Seriously, no one ever reads that review policy. If they looked at mine, they would know for sure that pitching me an erotica/romance/paranormal book would be something they would NOT do.

    Good luck with your goals and hey, you’re almost at a 1 year anniversary for your blog!

    Thanks for linking up to the Spread the Love Linky Party!!! I pinned this, too! 😀

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer January 8, 2014 at 10:53 pm Reply

      Hi, Rebecca! I don’t know why we bother at all with writing those guidelines and posting them. You’re right — no one reads them! If they did, they’d know I too would NOT accept erotica/romance/paranormal books. Oh, well!

      Thanks for the good luck wishes and the reminder about the blog anniversary that’s coming up. Hard to believe!

      I’m enjoying your link up. I love the diversity of things I find to read, and I saw the pin on Pinterest. Repinned it! 🙂

      Like

  3. Elizabeth (Silver's Reviews) January 6, 2014 at 2:23 pm Reply

    Very nice post and wrapup.

    THANKS for sharing.

    I just found you and now you are leaving. 🙂

    I agree that book bloggers are the nicest, most helpful folks ever.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Spread The Love Post

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer January 6, 2014 at 7:41 pm Reply

      Elizabeth, I’m hoping to keep up the reviewing but likely not at a steady pace. Things may just be a bit more sporadic. Already in this first week of January the continuation of my first draft of my memoir is going so well, the year may progress more quickly than first anticipated. Please come back!

      Like

  4. tpolen January 2, 2014 at 6:02 am Reply

    I certainly understand your logic and goal to finish your manuscript, but I sure would miss your blog!

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer January 2, 2014 at 2:35 pm Reply

      Teri, how lovely to receive understanding and a message that you’d miss me all in one comment! Thanks so much, my friend.

      Like

  5. JJ Hinojosa January 2, 2014 at 12:36 am Reply

    You’re providing a valued service to all writers. I will continue reading your blog until you pull the plug. Good luck in finishing and marketing your MS. I pray your husband recovers from his back problems soon. I feel for him because I’m scheduled for back surgery if the VA ever sets me a surgery date. Again, thanks to you and your most valuable input. jjh

    Like

    • Sherrey Meyer January 2, 2014 at 2:35 pm Reply

      JJ, you’re much too generous with your kind words. I appreciate your support and encouragement, and most of all your prayers for my husband’s back problems. And I’ll be praying for you as well that the VA sets a surgery date soon. I am the product of four back surgeries, two for spinal stenosis and then a fusion from L2 through S1, done in two stages about eight years apart. Currently, I’m pleased to say I am pain-free and two years out from the last fusion. So, there is hope out there!

      Like

And what do you think?

